Spice SE88P #003

Spice - SE88P #003 · Gipimotor
  • built year

    1988

  • body color

    Lights Blue

  • price

    245000 €

Founded in 1984, the Spice Engineering team aimed at competing in the World Sportscar Championship in the C2 category. Running Tiga prototype at the beginning while helping them securing the 3rd place in the constructor championship, the team quickly took a role as developing team for Tiga before becoming their a constructor for the 1986 season. Multiplying victories, podium and good results in the WSC and the IMSA GT Championship, the team became unmissable in the prototype racing world.

dsc_2298.jpg
spice-se-88p-face.jpg
dsc_2300.jpg

Debuting in 1988, the SE88P chassis 003 was campaigned extensively by Ball Bros Racing in the Camel Lights GTP Series the same year. Finishing P4 in September 1988 the 3 hours of San Antonio with the Durst/Brockman duo the car was consistent all year and despite not being on the podium did great all year long including a 6th place in Watkins Glen and Colombus.

dsc_2273.jpg
spice-se-88p-3-4-arg.jpg

Competing in the Daytona 24h the following year the car was later sold to Pierre Alain Lombard from Essex Racing for the last race in Mexico where the Guerrero/Lopez duo finished P17. Racing again in the Daytona 24h in 1990 with Morgan, Ten Cate and Hessert, the car retired while running P23 due to an electrical failure. Three weeks later, still runned by Essex Racing, the car achieve 9th in Miami.

dsc_2313-haut.jpg
dsc_2299.jpg

However, on the 17th of March 1990, the Hessert/Morgan Spice did impeccably well in the 12 Hours of Sebring to finish 7th overall and win the Lights class ! An impressive result that promote the car to an advertising role with Buick.

1990-sebring.jpg
dsc_2308.jpg

Acquired and raced from the early 2000’s by Formula One engineer and technical director, Nick Chester, SE88P #003 achieve good success in historic racing in Europe including a podium in the Oldtimer Nurburging GP(2010) and a class win in Le Mans Classic (2008). Tuned by Northampton Motorsport Ltd in 2020, the 4.5 litres V6 produced a reliable 476hp for 800kg ahead of some final testing with the car.

dsc_2275.jpg
dsc_2297.jpg

Sold to Gipimotor in 2021, the car has been extensively checked and is available with a large array of spare parts, documentation (including press kit) and a new livery done thanks to Phil Stot in UK. 

Le Mans Classic and Group C racing eligible, this C2 car can be seen in our Belgian HQ (Evere - Belgium) on appointment only.

dsc_2257.jpg
dsc_2311.jpg

You need more information? Please inquire here.

Send

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Spice SE88P #003

Spice - SE88P #003 · Gipimotor
  • année de production

    1988

  • carrosserie

    Lights Blue

  • prix

    245000 €

Fondée en 1984, l’équipe Spice Engineering visa la competition dans le World Sportscar Championship dans la catégorie C2. Debutant sur des prototypes Tiga tout en sécurisant pour eux la 3eme place au championnat des constructeur, l’équipe gagnera rapidement un role de développement pour Tiga avant de devenir eux meme constructeur pour la saison 1986. Multipliant les victoires, podiums et bon résultats Thant en WSC qu’en IMSA GT, l’équipe deviendra incontournable dans le monde du sport prototype.

dsc_2298.jpg
spice-se-88p-face.jpg
1990-sebring-04.jpg

Lancée en 1988, la SE88P chassis 003 sera mise en competition par l’équipe Ball Bros Racing en Camel Lights GTP Series la meme année. Finissant quatrième des 3 heures de San Antonio en septembre de la meme année avec le duo Durst/Brockman la voiture fut consistante toute l’année malgré son absence des podiums et fut de mon résultats tout au long de l’année avec notamment une 6eme place a Watkins Glenn et Colombus.

dsc_2273.jpg
spice-se-88p-3-4-arg.jpg

Courant aux 24h de Daytona l’année suivante, la voiture sera vendue à Pierre Alain Lombard pour l’équipe Essex Racing a l’aube de la dernière course de la saison à Mexico ou le l’equipage Guerrero/Lopez finira 17eme. Courant à nouveau aux 24h de Daytona en 1990 avec Morgan, Ten Cate et Hessert, la voiture qui était 23eme abandonnera à la suite de problèmes électriques. Trois semaines plus tard, la voiture atteindra la 9eme place à Miami.

dsc_2313-haut.jpg
dsc_2299.jpg

Cependant, le 17 mars 1990, la Spice pilotée par Hessert et Morgan performera impeccablement bien et finira 7eme, gagnant la categorie Lights ! Un résultat impressionnant qui va promouvoir la voiture au role d’égérie pour Buick.

1990-sebring.jpg
dsc_2308.jpg

Acquise et mise en competition dans les année 2000 par Nick Chester, ingénieur et directeur technique en Formule 1, SE88P #003 aura sa part de succès en compétition historique en Europe incluant un podium au Oldtimer GP Nurburgring (2010) et une victoire de classe au Mans Classic (2008). Reglée par Northampton Motorsport Ltd en 2020, le V6 4.5 produira 476hp pour 800kg juste avant les derniers test avant la vente de la voiture.

dsc_2275.jpg
dsc_2297.jpg

Vendue à Gipimotor en 2021, la voiture fut l’objet d’une inspection complete et est disponible avec une large quantité de pieces de rechanges, documentation (dont le press-kit) et une nouvelle livrée appliquée grace à l’aide de Phil Stot en Angleterre.

Eligible au Mans Classic et championnat Group C, ce prototype C2 est visible en nos locaux (Evere - Belgium) sur rendez vous uniquement.

dsc_2257.jpg
dsc_2311.jpg

Plus d’informations ? Contactez-nous.

Envoyer

Ce site est protégé par reCAPTCHA et les règles de confidentialité et les conditions d’utilisation de Google s’appliquent.