Ford Escort MK1 Wooding (Original)

Ford - Escort MK1 Wooding (Original) · Gipimotor
  • built year

    1971

  • body color

    Black/Gold

Arguably one of the most successful competition cars ever, the MK1 Escort is an eternally familiar sight in competition events. Their sublime handling and power to weight ratio makes them well suited to most circuits and they remain, to this day, a formidable car to race and enjoy.

mk1-tdl-3-4avd.jpg
dsc_2199.jpg
dsc_2174.jpg

Main hub for the specialist network of the Ford Escort, UK was the home of legendary preparator Broadspeed. Partnering with German based team Wooding and Texaco sponsorship, the trio was aiming for success with the now mythical black and gold livery for the 1971 and 1972 DRM seasons.

dsc_2194.jpg
mk1-tdl-3-4ard.jpg

What made these cars so special and so fast was the bespoke torsion bars by Mo Gomm. Strong of that innovation, the Wooding squad was fighting at the front of the pack with Zakspeed until 1973 when the Wooding team stopped.

After the German squad ceased activity, the car went to other owners but still continued racing, including a conversion to HillClimb racing as documented in a picture of 1972 and observation of the modifications on the car when it was restored.

mk1-tdl-face.jpg
dsc_2195-haut.jpg

Although on a different path, the car kept its original livery and was documented as belonging to Mr Robert Pucher from Feldkirsch (Austria) in 1983. Acquired later by Alfa Romeo racer and (then) Ferrari main Agent Fritz Neuser, the car was  then sold to German Ford collector Helmut Stein in the early 1990s. 

dsc_2146.jpg
mk1-tdl-arriAre.jpg

Bought by the previous owner in 2013, the car was heavily modified to take benefit from the more permissive regulation in HillClimb racing. However, its original Mo Gomm torsion bars were still present and the car history was undeniable. Restored to its original glory, the car received a Craig Beck Racing engine and a new HTP in 2016. 

Sold to the current owner by Gipimotor in August 2018, the car raced in the HTC championship by Peter Auto and other historical event with good results. 

Ready to race with a HTP valid until 2026, the car can be seen in our HQ (Evere - Belgium) on appointment only.

You need more information? Please inquire here.

Send

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Ford Escort MK1 Wooding (Original)

Ford - Escort MK1 Wooding (Original) · Gipimotor
  • année de production

    1971

  • carrosserie

    Black/Gold

Probablement l’une des voitures les plus victorieuses en competition, la Ford Escort MK1 restera éternellement une presence familière dans les événements sportifs. Avec leur sublime comportement et rapport poids puissance qui en font une machine naturellement adaptée à la plupart des circuits, elles restent, à ce jour, de fantastique voiture pour courir et s’amuser.

mk1-tdl-3-4avd.jpg
dsc_2199.jpg
dsc_2174.jpg

Mecque des spécialiste de la Ford Escort, l’Angleterre était la terre du légendaire préparateur Broadspeed. S’alliant au team Allemand Wooding et au sponsor Texaco, le trio visa le succès avec la désormais mythique livrée noire et dorée pour les saisons 1971 et 1972 du championnat DRM. 

dsc_2194.jpg
mk1-tdl-3-4ard.jpg

Ce qui rendait ces voitures si spéciales et rapides, c’était leurs barre de torsion spécifiques développée par Mo Gomm. Forte de cette innovation, l’équipe Wooding se battait à l’avant du peloton avec Zakspeed jusqu’a la dissolution de l’équipe en 1973. 

Apres la disparition de l’équipe allemande, la voiture vint chez d’autres propriétaires mais continua a courir, notamment en course de cote, comme documenté dans une photo de 1972 et le constat, lors de la restoration, des modifications faites.

mk1-tdl-face.jpg
dsc_2195-haut.jpg

Meme sur une carrière différente, la voiture garda sa livrée originale et sera documentée comme appartenant à Mr Robert Pucher de Feldkirsh (Autriche) en 1983. Acquise plus tard par le pilote Alfa Romeo et (à l’époque) l’agent Ferrari Fritz Neuser, la voiture sera ensuite vendue au collectionneur allemand de Ford Helmut Stein au debut des année 1990. 

dsc_2146.jpg
mk1-tdl-arriAre.jpg

Achetée par l’ancien proprietaire en 2013, la voiture était fortement modifiée pour tirer avantage de la réglementation plus permissive des courses de cote. Cependant, ses barres de torsion Mo Gomm était toujours présentes et l’histoire de la voiture était indéniable. Restaurée dans son état original la voiture recevra un moteur Craig Beck Racing et un nouveau PTH en 2016. 

Vendue à l’actuel proprietaire par Gipimotor en Aout 2018, la voiture courra en championnat HTC et autres événements historiques avec de bons résultats. Prete à courir avec un PTH valide jusque’en 2026, la voiture est visible en nos locaux (Evere - Belgique) sur rendez vous uniquement. 

Plus d’informations ? Contactez-nous.

Envoyer

Ce site est protégé par reCAPTCHA et les règles de confidentialité et les conditions d’utilisation de Google s’appliquent.