Lotus Cortina FIA

Lotus - Cortina FIA · Gipimotor
  • built year

    1965

  • body color

    Green/Yellow

  • price

    75 000 €

The Lotus Cortina was developed under an innovative partnership between Ford UK and Lotus Cars.

dsc06230.jpg
dsc06238.jpg

The collaboration began in 1963 using the Ford Cortina Mark 1 sedan. By this time Colin Chapman and Ford had already shared engine development for racing applications including work with Cosworth. Ford UK challenged Chapman to develop a sophisticated and potent twin-cam engine specifically for 1000 Ford Saloons to achieve Group 2 homologation.

Lotus Cortina making it a formidable player in rally and road racing events. Much like Shelby would do for the Mustang the Lotus Cortina enticed a more youthful population to reconsider the formerly conservative Ford brand. Brisk sales resulted in 3 300 Mark 1 and over 4 000 Mark 2 models being produced.

Almost immediately the Lotus Cortina earned a stellar reputation as enthusiasts who had previously considered a Mini Cooper or other sports cars moved to the more spacious and comfortable Lotus Cortina without sacrificing performance. The newly refined 1557 cc 105hp twin cam engine was both capable and durable while the improved handling allowed for great cornering and spirited performance. All the cars were painted white with green flashes front corner bumpers and Lotus badges. Over the years the Lotus Cortina has developed into a legend thanks to its intoxicating combination of sophisticated driveline and suspension innocuous looks and world-class performance.

dsc06221.jpg
dsc06207.jpg

This Lotus Cortina from 1965 has been fully restored by Gipimotor and is ready to race with the eligible FIA HTP.

You need more information? Please inquire here.

Send

Lotus Cortina FIA

Lotus - Cortina FIA · Gipimotor
  • année de production

    1965

  • carrosserie

    Green/Yellow

  • prix

    75 000 €

La Lotus Cortina est née dans le cadre d’un partenariat novateur entre Ford UK et Lotus Cars.

dsc06230.jpg
dsc06238.jpg

La collaboration a débuté en 1963 avec le développement de la berline Ford Cortina MK 1.  Colin Chapman, qui avait déjà collaboré avec Ford sur le développement de moteurs de course, y compris des travaux sur la Cosworth, a été engagé par Ford UK afin de développer un moteur sophistiqué et puissant à double arbre à cames, et de fabriquer 1000 Ford afin d'obtenir l'homologation du groupe 2.

La Lotus Cortina en fait un acteur formidable dans les épreuves de rallye et de course sur route. La Lotus Cortina a incité une population plus jeune à reconsidérer la marque Ford, autrefois conservatrice. Les ventes ont permis de produire 3 300 modèles MK 1 et plus de 4 000 modèles MK 2.

Presque immédiatement, la Lotus Cortina a acquis une excellente réputation, où la population a très vite opté pour cette voiture, plus spacieuse et confortable, sans sacrifier les performances sportives, laissant de côté les Mini Cooper et autres. Le nouveau moteur à double arbres à cames de 1557 cm3 développant 105 cv était à la fois performant et durable, tandis que la maniabilité améliorée permettait de belles performances en virage. Toutes les voitures étaient peintes en blanc avec des éclairs verts et des écussons Lotus. Au fil des ans, la Lotus Cortina est devenue une légende grâce à sa combinaison de transmissions sophistiquées et de suspensions de performances de classe mondiale.

dsc06221.jpg
dsc06207.jpg

Cette Lotus Cortina de 1965 a été complètement restaurée par Gipimotor et est prête à rouler avec son passeport technique FIA à jour.

Plus d’informations ? Contactez-nous.

Envoyer